STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES AND OCCUPATIONAL EDUCATION

May 8, 2024

TOPIC: Designated Career and Technical Education Schools (DCTS) Renewals and New Applications

PRESENTED BY:

Dr. Sarah Heath, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

EXPLANATION:

The Colorado State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (SBCCOE) oversees all high school Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs for the State of Colorado as well as the state funding associated with these approved programs as outlined in the Career and Technical Act (insert statutory reference). Secondary schools that have a dedicated mission and focus on Career and Technical Education are known as Designated Career and Technical Education Schools (DCTS). Local school boards must agree to assurances associated with operating a Designated Career and Technical Education School (DCTS) through an application process in addition to the program approval process. Staff have review all the applications and deems all of the following schools to meet the requirements.

Renewals

Adams 12 School District - Future Forward at Bollman Tech Adams 12 School District - Future Forward at Washington Square Boulder Valley School District – Boulder Tech Cherry Creek School District – Cherry Creek Innovation Campus Denver Public Schools – CEC Middle College Jefferson County Public Schools – Warren Tech Mesa51 School District – Career Center Poudre School District – Futures Lab St. Vrain School District – Career Center Thompson Valley School District – Career Center

New DCTS Locations

Douglas County School District – Legacy Campus Greeley 6 School District – CTE Center Littleton School District – EPIC Campus St. Vrain School District – Innovation Center

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends Board approval of Designated Career and Technical Education Schools (DCTS) Applications for FY25-30.